Countries of the Schengen Area

The Schengen Area covers the majority of European countries, with the exception of the United Kingdom and countries such as Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland who are soon to be joining the free movement area.

On the other hand, there are countries that are not part of the European Union such as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein but are members of the Schengen free movement area.

The Schengen Area consists of the 26 countries as follows:

  • Member states of the European Union: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden
  • Non-EU member countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland

The non-European territories of France and other countries normally apply their own visa policy and are in general not part of the Schengen area. However, free movement applies.

Not all foreigners are required to obtain a visa to enter the Schengen area. The Visa requirements depend on several factors:

  • Nationality of the applicant
  • Possession of a long term visa valid in the Schengen Area
  • Particular situation of the foreign applicant

The persons who do not require a visa to enter the Schengen Area:

  • Persons having a valid permit of stay, delivered by a Member state of the Schengen Area
  • Persons having a valid permit of stay delivered by a Member state of the Schengen Area with mention “Family member of EU Citizen” or “Long-term resident EC”

If you do not fall into one of the categories above or if you are unsure about your personal situation regarding the visa requirement, contact us today to discuss further.

A Schengen visa allows free movement to its holder within the whole Schengen Zone for a period of normally less than 90 days in any 180 day period or as specified in the visa itself.